Immunisations

Standard

So, the time has come for the dreaded immunisations, every mothers worst nightmare. I swear we hype it up in our minds so much that its no wonder the babies cry! I decided to take her to the free clinic, to pay 1500-00 for her jabs every month was just not feasible. I was terrified. I hate injections when I have to get them myself, but to watch someone inject my most precious bean would be much worse! All my friends offered to come with me but I asked Shaun if he’d come. That didn’t work though, the place was so busy and we only had half an hour. So I said I’d suck it up and go back that afternoon alone. I then cried. A lot. I have NO IDEA why! I was so emotional that I had to give myself a very stern talking to. After some wise calming words and half a bottle of rescue, I was ready to try again. Only to be told to come back on wednesday when they weren’t as busy.
So that brings us to Wednesday. With my dear friend Kerry offering moral support, I tackled the dreaded clinic for the third time. We sat for 2 hours but eventually got into a little room where she was weighed. I had to hold her leg so that the doctor could inject her. I was looking into her eyes talking to her when suddenly her little face screwed up and she started crying. We had to do this 3 times! As soon as it was over I fed her and she calmed down almost instantly. Shame Kerrys little boy then had to have his done, he’s two and so can fully understand what’s happening. He was very brave though and by the time we left the clinic was back to his happy self. I was so worried about it for nothing. Lily slept most of the day and when she did start fussing I put her in the baby wrap and she went straight back to sleep. I was very proud of both of us, I kept calm and didn’t cry or get upset and she settled down so quickly. Such a brave girl!
I’m glad its over though, until the 24th when we have to go through it all over again! Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

Leave a Reply

