Things to remember

Standard

Reading Learner Moms blog post of things she used most with her babies got me thinking. So far I’ve used pretty much everything I have, and as Lily is only 8 weeks old anything I haven’t used I’m sure will be used as she gets a bit bigger. There are a few things that I need to remember though, for my next pregnancy. Like what was invaluable in the hospital and what took up unnecessary space in my carefully packed (and repacked) bag.

Things I needed:
*Salt and lots of it. (I bathed in salt at the very least once a day, going through about 2 or 3 kgs a week. It was the only thing that helped)

*Sparkles for labour (the gas and air dries out your mouth so much and your not allowed to drink water- which I still think is ridiculous. Eventually after me begging them they said I could have one sip of water. About 15 mins after that I was gagging & they blamed the single sip of water. But I was only gagging because my mouth was too dry to swallow! The sparkles also helped with my blood sugar. You’re not allowed to eat either, but labour is hard hard work, like running a marathon on an empty stomach. So my blood sugar dropped. When I told them I was nauseous because my blood sugar was low they said that’s not why its because I had a sip of water. Seriously you can’t make this stuff up. So ridiculous. I know what it feels like to have love blood sugar, I’ve been hypoglycemic for as long as I can remember and I know what it feels like.)

*Disposable underwear and maternity pads.

*Front opening pyjamas

* face cloth (is there a more wonderful feeling than having your face wiped with a cool face cloth while in labour? I think not)

* Cellphone (so I could tweet and facebook) camera and chargers

Things I didn’t need:
* 2 books and 2 magazines. I sort of paged through the mags but didn’t focus on them at all.

* iPod

Wow. Seems I didn’t pack to badly actually. I used most of the things I packed. In the days leading up to the birth my biggest concern was going into labour with dirty hair. I went so far as to buy dry shampoo! I used it once, just before I left the hospital. The rest of the time I had it plaited and didn’t think about it at all!

Things I’ve used most for Lily:
Cotton wool
Wet wipes
Nappies (duh)
Towelling nappies for spit ups- you can never have to many!
Baby grows that fasten in the front. (Shaun still hates pulling them over her head!) Dummies! Life savers!
Angel care monitor
Singing bouncing vibing chair
Baby wrap. Means I have my hands free and she calms down so quickly when she’s snuggled against my chest

Right she’s asleep again so off I go!
Xox
Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

2 responses »

  1. What a great idea! You forget so quickly what you used and what u didn’t! I also made a list of all our little ‘tricks’ – things like what we do when she has a cold etc!

Leave a Reply

