pain

Standard

When people tell you how great a normal birth is, one of the biggest selling points is that the pain is over immediately afterwards. Well I haven’t found this so far. I had my fair share of pain. I was all set for a pain free birth, expecting the only pain I’d feel would be the epidural going in, before I was on a blissful happy cloud from which my baby would pop out all pink and squishy. Well as we already know, this didn’t happen at all. I had that terrible drug to speed up contractions (which doctors won’t give you if you don’t have an epidural, I HAD an epidural so he gave it to me, but the epidural wasn’t working was it?!) and so I had to deal with ferocious pain. I had the epidural redone for the third time just before the pushing started though, and so I couldn’t push perfectly and Lily needed to be pulled out using vacuum. Which can only be done with an episiotomy. This is what’s STILL causing me pain. Lily is almost 9 weeks now and I’m still in pain from it. See I tore the stitches in the first week home (the doctors tell you to take it easy for a reason).

So this post is a chance for me to whine a bit. Its NOT FAIR!!! I had my pain! I had lots of pain! The deal was that it would be over now! This is not part if the deal and I’m not happy! When will it end???

Sigh. The doctor has said that I just have to give it time, what else can he say? Its my own fault but still really sucks. However, I’m still really glad I had a normal birth. It was a hell of an experience and I’d do it again for sure. Next time I might skip the epidural all together, so that I can hopefully avoid the episiotomy and then maybe all the advice will ring true, and the pain really will be over afterwards.

Thanks for listening to me moan internet friends. I feel better now!

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

One response »

  1. okay, again i am glad i had the birth i did even though it was a fuck up.
    i healed within a week. whether of not it’s cause i healed without pain meds and went back to working 5 days after he was born or not is still up for debate though.

    i really hope your pain eases up soon.
    post more photos of this gorgeous little being of yours!

Leave a Reply

