A love story

Standard

Warning, this is a mushy slushy post filled with googly eyes.

I’ve always believed in soul mates, even before I met my husband, I knew one day I’d meet my other half. A romantic, perhaps naïve notion but that’s me! Tuesday is our 3 year wedding anniversary and I thought I’d share how we met and a snapshot of our love story so far.

My best friend and I went to Margate for our matric holiday. We were ready for a week of dancing, drinking and flirting! The first night we went out I spotted the sexy barman immediately. He was working along side my cousin and Jenni & I spent most of our night hanging out with him (my cousin). A few drinks in, this sexy barman I’d been checking out came up to us and plonked down two shots of tequila complete with salt and lemon. We thanked him and licked the salt and quickly threw the disgusting burning liquid down our throats… Only to realize that it wasn’t tequila like we expected, but WATER! The naughty shit had tricked us & in retaliation he got two shot glasses thrown at his head! We stormed off in a huff and went to sit at another bar in the club. A few hours later he came up to me & said (with a very cheeky smile) that he owes me a drink. So we had a drink and spent the rest of the night dancing & chatting. When I got home, I was already thinking what a good story this would be to tell our grandchildren one day. I called my mom & told her I’ve met the man of my dreams, I knew I had finally met my soul mate. And I didn’t even know his surname! We spent the rest of the week getting to know eachother & avoiding thinking about what was going to happen when I had to go home. I was going back to Jhb for a week then going back to the coast for two weeks on a family holiday, so we decided to make a decision after that. We knew a long distance relationship would be impossible, I was at university in Jhb so couldn’t move, but he had just come back from the UK and not to settled yet. So he decided to move to Rustenburg to work with his mom in her business there. When he told me this I was so thrilled that he was serious enough to make such a move I said it would be no problem, Rustenburg was right around the corner from Joburg! Only thing is, I had no idea where Rustenburg was and only found out that it was an hour and a half trip once he moved there. Oops. But it was still closer than Margate! So for three years we had long distance relationship. I drove up one weekend and he drove down one weekend. It wasn’t easy, but I knew that it would be worth it, he was my soul mate after all. When I finished my degree I moved to Rustenburg to be with him, and we got engaged. A year later we got married, sold up and packed up and moved to Australia. Within two months we decided we didn’t like Australia so moved to England, where we lived for a year. We then decided we wanted to come home, so sold up and packed up again and came home. When Shaun got offered a job in Richards Bay neither of us had ever been and had no idea where it was or what it would be like. So we said hell yes! Its an adventure. We arrived in this new strange town, with only each other. And we made it work. Because we only need each other. That’s what a soul mate is I think, the one person you need in life. Sure, I need my mom and my best friend and my family but what it comes down to is Shaun. All I need is him, with him at my side I’ll try anything. He is the most wonderful man, and I’m so blessed to have found him, but then I always knew I would. I always knew I’d find my soul mate.

Happy anniversary my love, I love you endlessly.

One response »

Leave a Reply

