can things calm down now please?!?

Standard

So we have finally moved into our new house, its absolutely amazing. I love it! Lily has a lovely big room, we have a spare room/study and plenty of packing space. I’m so happy! The last few weeks have been crazy, Shaun wrote his exams. We don’t know how they went yet but hopefully well. I’m so proud of him, he didn’t get a chance to study after school and is really working hard at it now. Its not easy with a job and a baby! His grandfather passed away the day after our three year wedding anniversary so we went to the South Coast for a week. Shaun lived with his grandparents since he was a baby so he was very close to his grandfather. Even though he had been ill for a long time it was still a terribly difficult time and both brothers took it very hard.

Moving day was a disaster! It started off with rain. On moving day that’s never fun! It was raining and overcast and ridiculously hot and humid. My mom was flying down on the 7.30 flight to look after Lily while I directed the movers around. I went to fetch her and waited for ages only to be told that the plane couldn’t land because of the cloud cover and went back to Jhb! I had to rush home to meet the movers who were waiting at the gate. Because I had been at the airport for so long I hadn’t had time to empty the fridge or take down the curtain or anything (which I was planning on doing in the hour I had btwn the airport & the movers arriving, while mom played with Lily) I also had a screaming hungry baby and a house full of men. In every single room. Thankfully I had an expressed bottle which I gave her, but couldn’t help worrying over what I was going to do in three hours time (this is a huge downside for BF, as a youngish mom-I’m 25. Not many of my friends have kids so BF isn’t very comfortable. I seem to spend a lot of time in other people rooms etc feeding). Lucky for me the movers were such lovely guys (thanks Biddulphs) I very tearfully told them the situation (whilst I glugged rescue remedy) and they said no problem they’ll do everything. They packed everything, even the contents of my fridge went into a box! While I sat waiting playing with Lily my tummy growled and grumbled, I was starving! In flew my wonderful angel friend Petria bearing MacDonalds burgers (don’t judge me I was ravenous). She played with Lily while I scoffed my burgers then ran up and down throwing the last few personal things I needed into my car. I then fed Lily sitting in the car with the aircon on full force. The whole time I was on the phone with the airline trying to figure out what the hell was happening with my moms flight? Eventually they said, oh its about to land in Richards Bay. Perfect timing as the guys had just closed up the truck and were ready to leave. So I flew to the airport with a huge smile and fetched my mom, I had missed her so much! We then went to the new house and she hung out with Lily while I showed them where to unpack everything. Whew! What a day! Our house is gorgeous and I really really hope we don’t have to move again. It’s my own fault that we move so much, I know this, I get itchy feet. 2 country moves and 3 province moves in 3 years is ridiculous. I’ve lived in 11 houses since I left home at 21. I need to keep reminding myself that Lily is our next big adventure, and we will not be moving again. Although I know Shaun has been looking for jobs in Bali- that would be fun! 😉

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

2 responses »

  1. Wow! That’s a lot of stuff. Glad it worked out in the end and hope your mom stayed for a while. Mine lives in Knysna so I know how exciting it is to see them after a long while. Enjoy your new home and hope things calm down!

Leave a Reply

