Sleep troubles and finding things to do

Standard

Lily doesn’t believe in the importance of sleep. I’m trying to keep our days busy so that she sleeps deeply at night. That’s the problem I’m having, she’s not sleeping deeply. She wakes up for her dummy CONTINUALLY. Her eyes don’t open but she’s fussing and if I ignore her she wakes up and starts crying. So this is our daily routine, maybe I’m doing something wrong and that’s why she’s not sleeping? Or maybe she’s just a bad sleeper. I’m a very light sleeper and very rarely sleep through the night so maybe she’s got that from me! So here’s our routine:
She goes to sleep happily at about 7pm after her bath and dinner and sleeps soundly until about 1 or 2am. She’s not waking up but is fussing until I put her dummy in. This goes on every 15 mins until about 3 or 4 when she wakes up and I eventually feed her. She then sleeps until about 5.30 or so and starts fussing until Shaun puts her in bed with me. We then snooze until about 6.30 when we get up for breakfast. We then go for a walk around the complex for a little while. When we get home she usually goes back to sleep for anything from half an hour to two hours (if I’m very lucky because this is when I try sleep with her). When we wake up I feed her and get her bathed and dressed and put her in her bouncy chair while I get ready. We will then maybe go to the shops or the storks nest or we’ll just play at home. I’m finding it difficult to entertain her all the time. We do tummy time and play on the bed or her play gym or in her cot. She’s generally drinking every 3 or 4 hours and sleeping after being awake for about 2 hours, for about half an hour or 45mins. At about 4.30 suicide hour starts and we go for another walk to avoid the screaming tantrum throwing time. She baths between 5 and 7, depending on her mood and what our evening has been like. I want a routine but I don’t want to be stuck to much so I’m being a bit flexible with it. Then feed and bed and we start the cycle again.
So, does anyone have any insight? What do you think of my routine?

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

One response »

  1. I think you’re doing a fabulous job to get her to sleep such a long stretch in the first half of the night! Maybe she’s hungry in the early hours but too tired to wake up properly – once she starts solids at night she should sleep better, and once she gets more mobile she’ll also tire herself out. You only started sleeping through at about 3 months – and were never a great sleeper … Until you became a teenager!!

Leave a Reply

