Things I Miss

Standard

There are very few things I miss about my life pre-baby. I love being a mom, even the lack of sleep is bearable (just). I do, however, miss two things. Both of them are very shallow, so forgive me for a few shallow moments wallowing in self pity.
Firstly I miss movies. Stupid I know but I LOVE movies. Shaun and I used to go to movies just about every Friday night. I’m quite happy with popcorn & cherry slush for dinner and I’ll watch any movie purely for the sake of going to movies. So I really miss that. Last week I went to see Breaking Dawn. I went alone and loved it. Cried constantly since I’m a ridiculously emotional mommy, and sent a zillion smss to Shaun making sure Lily was ok. Obviously she was perfectly fine and don’t think she even noticed I was gone!

Secondly, and more importantly, I miss my beautiful boobs. I’ve never been thin or drop dead gorgeous but I have always had spectacular boobs. They were gorgeous! And now have been destroyed one suck at a time by this gorgeous little monster. They are now two lumpy deflated saggy granny boobs! I know that one day plastic surgery will help me, but in the mean time its really depressing me.

Other than this, I love being a mom! I love picking my Lily up out of her cot and getting a huge smile in return. I love it how she smiles and kicks the whole way through her bath and I even love the temper tantrum she throws every single night when I dress her for bed. I love how she goes goooo and smiles and kicks excitedly when I talk to her. I love how she has learnt to roll over and looks shocked every time she does it. I love how she talks to the trees and flowers with me when we go for walks and I love love love how she loves me so much. She loves me as much as I love her and its just wonderful.

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

One response »

  1. Don’t feel guilty over the things you have missed. It is completely normal. I still need to go and see Breaking Dawn. On the up side there will be a whole bunch of things you never found entertaining or special pre-baby!

    On the boob matter, wish I can remember my pre and post boobs with baby #1. Oli has not been interested in breast feeding, he didn’t mind my milk, just wasn’t latching!

Leave a Reply

