Growing up

Standard

After my post about my phobia of spiders I started thinking. What will I do if confronted with an eight legged monster in front of Lily? I can’t do my usual (start crying, take all my clothes off, jump on the bed and phone Shaun) so what am I going to do? I can’t pass my phobia onto Lily. Hopefully I won’t have to figure this out for a while! So anyway while I was on this train of thought I remembered a time with my cousin Sharon. She was pregnant with her second baby and Shana was about a year old. We were sitting chatting and Shana was playing on the floor next to us and sharon bent down and picked something up off the floor and threw it out the window saying ‘ew snot’. A few minutes later she said ‘you know I actually think that might have been a worm’ and I said ‘you know I actually think I can see another one’. Oh. My. Gosh. Maggots! We both screamed and I jumped onto the couch and she jumped onto the coffee table (to be honest she was screaming and I was giggling- please picture a heavily pregnant women jumping onto a coffee table screaming, yup. So I was laughing). We then both look down and there is Shana sitting on the floor looking up at us with her little lip quivering. Oops. Time to be grown ups! So after pulling Shana up onto the table with us, we made a game plan. We can do this, we can’t freak out we have to be grown ups. So we get black bags and cover our arms and the dustbin (where they were coming from) and decide to carry it down stairs like that. Sharon (a.k.a supermom) has Shana on her hip, Jordan in her belly and a black bag over her arm and I’ve got the other side with bags on my arms and we’re walking down the stairs. We made it outside, dumped the whole dustbin in the middle of the road and ran back inside. Feeling very proud of ourselves we walked back inside & saw millions of little white maggots all over the floor! I think that was about the time we said Screw being grown ups, jumped into the car and bailed!

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

Leave a Reply

