Day 13 -> A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days.

Standard

I’m not really a music when I’m miserable kinda person. I’m more a cake when I’m miserable, or chocolate, or bread or well… Food to be honest. But, I do have songs that tie me to times. Like Mr Jones by Counting crows is my song for my best friend, because we danced like crazy people to that song every night on matric holiday. In fact I have quite a few Jenny songs that take me back to tanning topless on the verandah, living on tuna and canned tomato (and tequila), partying until 6am, sleeping till 2 and going out again. She is the most wonderful friend, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. You want Jen as your best friend, trust me on this. You don’t get better.

I’ve also got songs that tie me to emotional times and that I simply cannot listen to. On of these is Happy Birthday by Stevie Wonder. This is a bit irrational because the song that was playing on the night was Isn’t she lovely, but for some reason I tie it to Happy Birthday. My 16th birthday, when everyone knew my parents marriage was falling apart but no one had spoken it aloud yet.

The whole prime circle CD reminds me of falling in love with my husband, while driving along the windy roads of the south coast, sand in the seats and surf boards poking us in the head. Long days on the beach and nights spent dancing, drinking and…other stuff.

Finally Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen. This was my dance with my dad at my wedding and my 21st. One of my best memories is blasting it out in his car and singing at the top of our lungs to it, dancing, air guitar everything! And we did the same thing for our wedding! No quiet waltz for us! We jumped around in all our finery and screamed out the lyrics (which we know off by heart of course). It was amazing. I love you dad.

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

One response »

  1. So beautiful to read 🙂 It got me thinking, I have so many good memories which link back to particular songs.

    Ironically though I can pin point exact songs that I blasted during my last three break ups. They seem to be the three that “got me through” if you like.

    They’re all by Pink! Haha. You + Your Hand, So What and “F##@ing Perfect”. Angry pop rock seems to be the crutch… along with chocolate!

Leave a Reply

