Day 15 -> Something or someone you couldn’t live without, because you’ve tried living without it

Standard

When we had just moved to England Shaun got a job offer to work on a jack up platform off the coast of Belgium. He would be safety coordinator and they would be erecting wind turbines. 70 nortical miles off the coast of Belgium. In the middle of the sea. 4 weeks away and 1 week home. When he got the offer neither of us were working and we were steadily running out of money so we were thrilled. I obviously didn’t think it through. We set about packing for him and getting everything organised for him to leave. The morning he left I dropped him off at the train station and sobbed for three days. I was an absolute mess. I don’t know what I was thinking sending him into the middle of the sea, out of cell phone range and with sketchy internet at best. I’d sometimes go days without talking to him and when I did finally get hold of him on skype the signal was so bad we would have 30 seconds of conversation before being cut off. That’s if we managed an actual call at all, usually it was just chat. I tried to stay strong, alone in freezing England with no job & my husband unreachable. My uncle and aunt looked after me and kept me sane but I was such a bore to be around. After 5 weeks we gave up. We were both absolutely miserable and decided that no amount of money was worth it. He packed up and came home!
I know I can’t live without him because I’ve tried and failed. I know that I can handle anything life throws at me as long as I have Shaun next to me to deal with it. We’ve started from scratch four times now, landing in places where we knew hardly anybody except eachother and we’ve made it work. I love him so much and I’m so so blessed to have found him and snapped him up before anyone else could!

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

Leave a Reply

