Sleep

Standard

I love to sleep. Seriously. Its like my all time favourite thing to do. My perfect holiday would be one where I can go to bed early, get up late, have an afternoon nap and perhaps even a snooze on the beach squeezed in there somewhere. I can sleep all day and all night with no problem. I am also the lightest sleeper on the planet and have never slept through in my life. I sleep in one position, wake up and roll over and go back to sleep. That said I sleep very easily and it takes me about 3.5 seconds to fall asleep. So God ironically blessed me with a baby who doesn’t sleep. Well, one that sleeps very badly anyway. She tosses and turns and wakes every hour and a half. She wakes up with the teeny tiniest noise and won’t go back to sleep afterwards. She will only go to sleep latched or in the car or her pram and insists on taking up the whole bed when she finally does sleep. I can’t (won’t) sleep train her, its just not something I want to do. I believe she’s waking for a reason and needs her mommy to help her go back to sleep. Yes I know I’m going to regret those words but I also know that its the right decision and its my decision and one I’m sticking to. The point is that, even though I miss my sweet sweet sleep so much, I still find myself awake when I should be sleeping! My husband will take Lily so I can get an hours snooze and I’ll lie in bed tweeting, blogging, reading or watching Glee. What the hell is wrong with me! I think I’ve gotten so used to not sleeping that when I’m able to I don’t know what to do with myself! But its also so nice to have half an hour to myself to do those things that I (gasp) feel like I’m wasting it by sleeping!
Crazy right???

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

One response »

  1. I know exactly how you feel, about the lack of sleep, about not wanting to sleep train, about needing to spend the little private time on whatever you want to. My oldest was exactly like Lily, and he’s much better now (he’s almost 3). Although I’m not crazy about his new habit of waking up at 4 every morning…

    Anyway, you’re not alone and it will pass. One day. At least that’s what I keep on telling myself…;-)

Leave a Reply

