Moving Madness

Standard

I think I’m mentioned before that Shaun and I are the most ridiculously slapgat unorganised people. We are the people who arrive in Bali and realize as we’re getting off the plane that we have to pay an entrance visa. We’re also the people that don’t buy foreign currency before they leave for Bali. We are those dumasses who realize that they forgot to unlock the credit card for use in a foreign country… As they’re trying to pay for a hire car from the airport. Note these two also forgot to buy pounds before and organise a place to stay. We are ridiculously bad at these things. Its my fault for having a ‘we’ll just wing it attitude’ and Shauns fault for expecting me to handle it. So it doesn’t get done. I realize 15000 ks late that the light on my dash means my car needs a service. I realize after I get a blow out on the highway half way between Durban and Richards Bay that I don’t have airtime and don’t know how to change a tyre.

*please note this all happened BEFORE BABY! Although we’re still slapgat I’m much more responsible on the road etc now that I have a precious parcel with me all the time!

So yesterdays move was just more proof of how ridiculous the Richards are. First we left packing up so late. We both woke up at 6 on Friday morning and looked at the full cupboards, made beds, plugged in everything and realized just how far behind we were! We rushed around and threw things into boxes and waited for the van to get there. The van arrived at 9 and we were (almost) ready for it. Biddulphs moved us last time and this time and they were fantastic, I’d recommend them to anyone. At 12 the truck left for Durban and we popped past Shauns work to say goodbye, they had organised snacks and a bit of a party for him and said lovely things about him. Only trouble was our truck was on route and we were stuck making small talk! Eventually we got going and as we were leaving we both realized neither of us had the faintest idea where our new house was. We knew we were going to Durban and had an address but that was it. We had only been to the address once and had followed the agent that time. My Garmin is flat and the charger is AWOL so we decide to just wing it. I’m terrified of driving in Durban because I don’t know the area at all! Worked out ok though, Shaun was ahead of me and met the truck (he drives faster than I do) and I drove around Durban looking for the stadium knowing we live somewhere near it! Haha. Fun and games.
The flat is very nice, kitchen is crap and no space for my dishwasher which is a nightmare but will try make a plan. I think we’ll be happy here. Lily has a cold and it is freezing so we hibernating for the rest of the weekend. Thanks for all the well wishes everyone!
Lots of love
Xox

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

Leave a Reply

