exploring

Standard

When we’ve moved before Shaun and I have just been us. Just the two of us and a mountain of boxes. We’d drive around and say ‘let’s go down this road’ and ‘let’s see what’s in there’ and we’d drive around and if we got lost it wasn’t a big deal, we would maybe argue about which way to go (usually resulting with Shaun being grumpy and me sulking) but then we’d get over it and find our way home. We would spend hours exploring our new home town.
Now with a baby its not as easy! For one, I’m terrified of getting lost. Now that I have this precious parcel with me all the time I’m constantly worrying about being in a dodge area or taking a wrong turn. I also have to think about when she needs to drink again or eat again or sleep. I need to find somewhere to change her nappy and need to keep her entertained. Getting in and out the car to look at interesting things isn’t as easy anymore either. Now I need to take the baby out the car seat, get the pram out the car, get the nappy bag that needs to be repacked constantly. To do this once is fine, to do it twice is tolerable but any more than that is just impossible. Also driving around when your baby is screaming in the back, really isn’t as much fun.
I think we’ll take a bit longer to get acquainted with Durban than we usually will, and a lot of rescue will be consumed in the next few weeks, but we’ll get there!

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

One response »

  1. Pingback: i’m kind of a big deal. on my blog… | cupcakemummy and fish

Leave a Reply

