choices

Standard

Breastfeeding vs Formula feeding? Cloth nappies vs Disposable nappies? Co-sleep vs own room? Home cooked food vs Store bought?  Vegetarian vs Meat Eater vs Vegan? Stay at Home Mom vs Working Mom? Nanny vs Day Mother vs Daycare? Gay or Straight? Racist or not? Liberal or Conservative? Tea or Coffee? Sweet or Salty? Chocolate or Vanilla?

Choices.

We are faced with so many choices in life. Some of them take hours and hours of  deciding, careful consideration and angst goes into them, others are easy and no brainers. The fact is that no matter what we choose, no matter how easy or difficult a decision it was, its our decision and shouldnt be judged. Ive mentioned in posts before how I try very hard to not judge, but have to remind myself of this often. The fact is that its pretty ingrained in us to judge others. But why? Is it really any of my business? Who the hell am I? Why should anyone be allowed to judge anyone else on their choices in life? I choose to breastfeed, co-sleep and stay at home with my baby (for as long as is financially possible). I also choose to eat meat, drink skim milk, choose sweet over salty, coffee over tea and tab over coke light. These choices have as much to do with others as the big decisions.

Today President Obama announced his support for Gay marriage. Finally. I cant believe  its taken this long and I cant believe how many people are against it. Many of my friends and family are to, Hell, most of them! That’s fine, I don’t care if you are against or for it, just as I don’t care if you are racist or not. As long as your views don’t effect anyone else negatively, I don’t care. This means NOT using the K word in a tweet that gets broadcast around the world, or stopping people who love each other getting married. Other peoples choices, that don’t affect us, shouldn’t be judged. No matter what. I might think that breastfeeding is the best, but I am not going to judge you if you don’t agree with me. I don’t want to sleep train my baby, but I don’t care if you do- geez to be honest I admire you for the strength you have, and I’m pretty jealous of all the sleep you’re going to be getting.

I dont know where I’m going with this or what my point is, was just on my mind!

*plz excuse typos on this post- typing while fighting off Lily who is trying to grab my computer!

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

2 responses »

  1. it is so very true, some how we think we are doing the best thing, by commenting on other peoples decisions, when actually we should just shut the Hell up and repect them without judgement.

  2. I totally agree with the sentiment above but in reality it’s harder to implement personally isn’t it? We all judge, even when we try not to, we catch ourselves doing it anyway. I think this is largely due to our own insecurities and wanting to feel that we have made the “right” choices.
    But I do have to say YAY for recognition of same sex marriages!

Leave a Reply

