The glamorous life of a mother

Standard

*warning, this post is not for the squeamish.

So Lily has a huge pooh in her nappy. Cool, I’m ready, I get prepared. She has a toy, I have a nappy packet ready to put everything in, wet wipes, bum cream, clean nappy all at the ready. She’s lying happily on her back banging her toy on the wall. I take her pants off (which are full of it) and open her nappy. And all hell breaks loose. As I open it, she drops her toy on the floor, and *somehow* grabs her nappy and yanks it out from under her!!! so this pooh filled nappy flies up and goes all over her, the table and the wall! I start screaming because that’s what I do when I don’t know what to do. She’s laughing and rolling and spreading it around! I seriously had no idea what to do! Then she started crying because I was freaking out so now I HAD to pick her up! Right, into the bath! So I stripped her clothes, made her stand naked and pooh covered in the bathroom while I ran a hasty bath and dunked her in it! She was in 7th heaven now as she adores water. So splashed and squealed while I soaped her up and refound my gorgeous child from under a layer of mess!
After all the drama and both of us were cleaned up and smelling sweet again (as well as all the clothes and towels in the washing machine) I couldn’t help but laugh. Imagine it was Shauns turn to change her!!!

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

2 responses »

  1. I have this picture in my mind of you as a small girl playing in the sand pit – you absolutely hated getting your hands dirty and would play for a few minutes then cry that you wanted to wash your hands! Oh how times have changed!!

Leave a Reply

