#thespear

Standard

Even though I DON’T want to talk about the damn painting I’m going address it, just quickly while I sit waiting for Lily to wake up. I’m so over hearing about the presidents penis I can’t tell you! What the hell?
Firstly, the painting is not even good. Its not art IMO and the ‘spear’ looks like a cartoon drawing, like it was an after thought. I think the ‘artist’ thought “how can I cause the most uproar? Oh wait I think I’ll paint a penis! That always gets attention”.
Secondly, I think that the president should consider why no one has ever painted a picture like this of President Obama? Or Nelson Mandela? I don’t think anyone would even consider it, because they have the respect! I’m not politically minded at all (even though I did a year of politics at varsity) so I’m NOT going to talk politics here so please please don’t attack me for saying this. I’m just stating that the president should look deep and consider WHY this painting came about rather than WHAT its of.
Thirdly, what is it with breasts? Vaginas? Penises? The breastfeeding picture also caused all sorts of uproar. Seriously people, get over it. We all have them. We’ve all seen them. We don’t care!
And that’s all I have to say about that.

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

2 responses »

  1. I think art is open to interpretation, so what is art to some will just be plain ugly to others. Personally, I don’t like the painting, but I do think it’s meant to be a political statement and I also think it is a fair representation of how our president has been portrayed. What upsets me is that such a big issue is made over something so insignificant when we have far more serious issues that need to be handled with the same kind of outrage but are seemingly ignored. I actually blogged about it yesterday here: http://www.theblessedbarrenness.co.za/?p=6081
    As for the breastfeeding cover of Time, frankly the thing that p*ssed me off was their slogan – are you Mom enough? Seriously, talk about trying to make mom’s feel insecure or smug, depending on which side of the fence you are and talk about playing us up against each other!

    • I agree totally, ‘are you mom enough?’ What BS! Who is Time to decide who is mom enough? Surely we should be the judge of that? Or even better, our babies? Terrible headline and made just to piss us off and get attention!

Leave a Reply

