When is advice to much?

Standard

Last night I was chatting to @brono_bell on twitter, she has a newborn baby boy and I immediately started giving her advice. After a few tweets I thought about it and thought, I hope I’m not being an annoying assvice giver! You know, the person we all hate who just won’t shut up with the advice that goes against most of what we believe anyway?!
Its just so hard, I remember so well when Lily was NB and those first 3 months are so hard. You have no idea what you’re doing, you’re exhausted and sore and the advice of twitter moms got me through most of the long nights. Sitting with a baby on your boob for hours at a time, only for her to puke it all up all over you, sucks! I gathered all the advice I could get, sorted through it, and decided what I’d use.
I know, the advice sounds idiotic anyway. Sleep when baby sleeps? How the hell do you do that? There is so much to do! Laundry, dishes, baths, cooking, twitter. I was constantly busy doing who knows what. I did washing the day I came home from hospital! Hung it on the line and tore my stitches in the process. Yes. Ouch is right. To be fair to myself it was clothes that I had worn in hospital and they really needed a wash. But Shaun could have done it, I should have waited and let him do it. Instead I did it myself and instead of being healed up in 2 weeks, it took me 3 months. I was also so exhausted from getting up every 2 hours that I was constantly tearful and nauseous from the exhaustion. So, use it don’t use it (and you probably won’t) but sleep when the baby sleeps. You need 6 weeks to get over the trauma your body has gone through. SLEEP WHEN BABY SLEEPS! Shower/bath when daddy gets home. Stay in your PJs (less washing). Use the meals that you’ve cooked while you were pregnant and froze. Or have soup and toast or get hubby to cook.
I also battled with letting baby suck as long as she wants. Lily would sometimes drink for an hour at a time. My nipples were blood blistered and sore and all I wanted to do was stop! But I did it and it worked and we’ve not had many milk supply problems because of it.

So I’m sorry if I’m a pain giving all my pregnant or new mom friends advice, if I’m annoying TELL ME!
But before you do, stay strong, bath in salt, let baby suck, don’t express, drink jungle juice, sleep when baby sleeps, cook meals for the freezer before baby is born and forget about housework! 🙂

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

2 responses »

  1. I’m a new mom myself,Rebecca Anne is almost 15weeks old. Thank goodness I have found the adjustment to motherhood fairly easy,on my body and mind!- I do have a very good support system in place. I am loving being a mommy, and Becca is such an angel.What I find very funny and strange is that close friends who are desperately needing advice, will go all out to find the “answers” from clinic sisters to books to the internet ….but will not ask me or a fellow friend….for fear of sounding weak! We are all in this together, ever heard “it takes a village!”?

Leave a Reply

