An attitude change

Standard

I’ve written before on how I want Lily to grow up with a good self image, I don’t want the D(iet) word mentioned in my house, as well as the F(at) word or even the T(hin) word to be honest. I’ve never had a very good self image, I’ve always wanted to be thinner, browner, blonder, shorter and smaller. My mom (sorry mom) has always been the same. She’s gorgeous and yet is always striving to look…different to what she does. And I’m the same. I WILL NOT ALLOW this for Lily. She will be perfect no matter what, and I don’t want her to strive to look like anyone else. I want her to love herself and think of herself as perfect, because she is! and you know what? So am I. For the first time in my life I look at myself in a new light. My body that I’ve always hated? It carried this gorgeous child for 9 months. It created her from scratch! Those hips that I always despised and wished were smaller? They are a perfect perch to rest my baby on. My boobs which have always been to big, are feeding my baby and providing the most amazing nourishment for my child (as well as a lovely soft pillow for her sleeping head!). I feel confident and happier than I’ve ever been. I feel confident in my abilities as a mother, wife and woman. I feel that now, I will be able to ensure Lily grows up confident in herself, and loves her body and what it can do and know that she’s perfect, in every way, no matter what.
I’m sorry if this post seems self righteous, or self possessed. Its not meant to be. Its just how I’ve been feeling. Happy. Confident.
Content!

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

5 responses »

  1. “Sometimes I feel a little sad… then I stop and just go back to being awesome.” – Barney Stinson

    There’s really a lesson in there from Barney.

Leave a Reply

