Fathers, dads, daddies

Standard

Fathers day on Sunday started most unfortunately in hospital with a very sick little Lily. She had a fever of 39.2 on Saturday night and woke up with it at 38.5. We decided to take her as she had been ill since Wednesday. We thought it was just a cold but the fever worried us. Thank goodness we took her because she has a very bad case of tonsillitis! Poor baby. She’s given it to Shaun and I as well now, but we’re both sucking it up, parents can’t get sick!
So Shaun spent his first fathers day tending to a sick wife and baby, while feeling awful himself. That’s Shaun. He’s an amazing dad and husband. When Lily was newborn he would cook every night when he got home, make sure I ate and drank enough & helped me so much. I would never have survived those first few weeks without him. Now he plays with Lily and always makes her laugh. I often hear the two of them giggling away at something he’s done! Her fave trick is to throw all her balls out her ball pond and watch him put them back. he’s ever patient and kind and will follow her around the house while she’s crawling looking for me, while I sit in the bath, take her back to the lounge with him, only to follow her back 10 mins later. I love you my handsome love, thank you for all you do for us and for looking after us while we were all sick!
My dad was in Rio, so I couldn’t even talk to him asides from bbm. I’m incredibly lucky to have such an amazing dad. He travels the world, is out the country sometimes weekly but still calls to check in a few times a week and sends tweets and texts often. He followed his dreams and is now top of his game! He is an amazing role model for me, Shaun and Lily. He started out right at the bottom, and has worked his way up in a job he loves (although its way to stressful if you ask me). He has maintained his crazy sense of humour, compassion and kindness through everything. He is generous and loving and deals with a lot from his two kids, we really do give him grey hairs some times! Thank you for being a daddy instead of just a dad, for always being a voice of reason, for making sure my husband got home safely on his bachelors, for teaching me about forgiveness, for crying at my wedding-but sending your blessings as well, for being a wonderful grandfather who dotes on Lily (and always bringing her something from your trips-the latest a pair of clogs from holland!), for listening to me talk for hours about my next big idea, for keeping my popples safe and looking almost new for Lily, for always being there. I love you. To the moon and back.

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

Leave a Reply

