black cloud

Standard

This isn’t my usual happy, bubbly and quirky post. Because I’m really not in a happy, bubbly and quirky mood. Things in my immediate vicinity are fabulous, Lily is finally healthy again (although still snotty), Shauns probation is up so can finally really relax into his job, Lilys day mother adores her and tells me every day what a lovely child she is, how easy, sweet and happy she is (she does back this up by saying ‘whew but she doesn’t like to sleep). I’m job hunting and although I haven’t had to much joy yet, I have that, just around the corner feeling. I’m more in love with my husband than ever and we are happier in Durban than I have ever been.

However I’m NOT happy that external meaness has infiltrated my families life. To make it worse, I can’t even talk about it online which sucks because that’s my first response. I vent online to my support group, and now I can’t. But its really pissing me off that people feel the need to be nasty and insecure and take it out on those I love. On those who strive to be kind and good to all they meet. Its just not cool and its really put a black cloud over my head today.

Also? My maid lost a crucial part of my breastpump today. The little rubber part that does the pumping part. I HATE expressing so much already, and now my pump is useless. The pump I had loaned from a friend isn’t working and so now I’m totally stuck. Its driving me mad. To make it worse? I spend hours expressing milk and then my little monster won’t drink it. She’ll happily drink tea or water but will not drink milk or formula while at school. what can I do about this? She eats while there, breakfast, lunch and snacks but won’t drink her milk! I’m going to introduce cows milk at 10.5 months in her food and will start trying to skip a feed with cowsmilk when she’s one, but until then, what can I do???

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

One response »

  1. Take a deep breath and breathe… As for the meanies, wish them well and leave it to God because anymore energy on the them would be wasted! As for little adorable lily not drinking her milk, freeze what she doesn’t drink, it can stay up to three months in the freezer. As long as she’s growing well, all should work its-self out.
    I enjoy reading your bubbly, bright, uplifting posts but we all have our off-days & this one is almost over.
    You’re doing a good job mom!

Leave a Reply

