50 Shades of…twilight?

Standard

Image Image

I’ve just started the very popular 50 Shades of Grey, like seriously just started. I haven’t even gotten to any sexy scenes yet. I just wanted to talk about my newest theory. I think that it’s been written by Stefanie Meyer. Seriously. yes yes I know shes Mormon and all that, but there are such similarities its crazy! I think its twilight for grown-ups, and well, as far as I know its without the vampires. So here’s the similarities:

Isabella (Bella)/ Anastasia (Ana)

Both are clumsy, shy, pale, small and brunette. 

Both have a love of the old classic books

Both have mothers who are a bit off the rails and who they don’t live with.

Both fall in love with an older, rich, gorgeous man

Both are spurned by said older, rich and gorgeous man at first, ‘for their own good’.

Both are saved by their sweety, Ana almost gets hit by a cyclist and Bella by a car.

Both have other men in their lives who love them but they spurn their advances

Both have never had a boyfriend before

Both work in ‘manly’ jobs. Ana works in a hardware store and Bella works in a Camping goods store

Both suck at sports.

That’s all I’ve got so far, but I”m sure I’ll find some others!

Have you read the book? What do you think of my conspiracy theory? 

 

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

6 responses »

  1. Well, 50 Shades started out as a Twilight fan fiction book, hence the similarities. I havent read this or Twilight (and dont plan to :P) but while trying to find out what all the hype was about, found out about it.

    -Dom

  2. I really enjoyed the Twilight books and wasn’t planning on reading 50 Shades of Grey. Maybe I will wait for your recommendation of the book and give it a go?

  3. Im not in the habbit of popping bubbles… but your theory is correct and the author herself (evn though no one knows who she is) has said that the books were inspired by the Twilight books. I knew this before I started to read it, but only now do I actually realise the how the same they are.

    Ps: Once you get to the sexy parts – Twilight will never enter your mind again!

Leave a Reply

