baking for the domestic goddess

Standard

I am not a baker. At all. I love to cook and do it pretty well but I’m a terrible baker. So when I find recipes that work and are delicious I make them often. Here are the three things I make well, and they are so easy that they very rarely flop. Admittedly I have flopped Sarahs Lemon Loaf but that is because my pink food colouring spilt into my sugar so I decided to make a pink lemon loaf, which then for some reason didn’t cook through and sunk in the middle. could have been because I was making it with a baby on my hip, or because the baking parchment I used to line the pan caught fire a few mins into baking and I had to open the oven!

Sarahs Lemon Loaf

125g Butter

1.5 cups of flour

3/4 cup Sugar

2t baking powder

2 Eggs

1/2 cup milk

2t lemon zest

1t vanilla essence

1/4 almond essence

mix all ingredients until well combined, pour into a lined and greased loaf tin and cook on 180 for about 45 mins, until a skewer comes out clean.

Icing:

1 cup icing sugar

2-3 tsp lemon juice

mix it so that its pretty runny, pour over loaf. This is really optional, the cake is divine without it.

Variations I’ve tried:

leave out the lemon. Add cocoa powder to half the batter and swirl it through the other half. Marble cake!

 

Family Chocolate Brownies

I’m not sure whose recipe this is originally, it’s in my family cook book so I’m giving the family credit! I’ve changed it a bit.

1 cup Sugar

3T cocoa

pinch of salt

3/4 cup flour

2 T milk

2 Eggs

1 heaped tsp of good strong coffee (I used Douwe Egberts instant espresso, please don’t try use Ricoffee or something equally disgusting! Erm yes, have I mentioned I’m a coffee snob?)

Mix the coffee into the milk

Sift cocoa, four and salt. I don’t have a sieve so I don’t do this but you should. Add sugar, beaten egg, milk coffee, and melted butter ( I love it when a recipe uses melted butter because I always forget to lift the butter out before so its always to hard).

oh you can fold in some dark chocolate chunks here if you want, or some nuts, or marshmellow pieces.

pour into a greased pan (this recipe says 15 x 25cms, I just always use the same one and not sure the measurements).

Bake at 180 for 25mins or so

cut into squares and cover with chocolate icing if you want, or melt a bar of chocolate and drizzle over it (before you cut it obviously).

I usually serve them with vanilla ice cream and bar one sauce and call them home made chocolate brownie avalanches.

Nannys Crunchies 

1 cup flour

125g butter

3/4 cup syrup

1 1/2 cup sugar

1 cup coconut

1 tsp bicarb

2 cups oats

1 tsp almond essence

melt butter and syrup. add bicarb and essence. Pour mixture into dry ingredients. Press into a tray about 20 x 30cms and bake at 140 for 20 mins (I usually turn off the oven and leave them in there a bit longer) 

Variations:

Substitute half the oats with muesli or granola (put less sugar in then as well)

Use Whole wheat Flour (I always do this)

Add some cranberries and mixed seeds (also lessen the sugar, the cranberries make it very sweet)

Add some chocolate chips.

 

Tanyas Red Velvet Cupcakes

1 cup buttermilk
1 teaspoon vinegar
1 cup sugar
1 1/4 cup Sasko Cake Flour
1/3 cup oil
2 Tablespoon cocoa powder
1- 2 tablespoons liquid red food colouring (can adjust to your desired colour)
2 teaspoons vanilla essence (or one teaspoon vanilla extract)
1/2 teaspoon Moir’s Baking Powder (I use a whole tsp because they really don’t rise much)
1/4 teaspoon almond extract
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees.
Combine buttermilk and vinegar in a bowl and set aside.
Combine sugar, oil and extracts/essences in a large mixing bowl. Add the buttermilk mix and combine thoroughly.
Add the rest of your dry ingredients, mix until all lumps are gone. Lastly add your red liquid food colouring. Mix thoroughly
Fill cupcake liners 2/3 full.
Bake for 17-19 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the centre of a cupcake comes out clean.
Wait at least 30 minutes, or until completely cool to frost.

Recipe will make 12 regular-sized cupcakes, or 24 mini cupcakes.

Butter cream icing
75 Grams butter
3-4 cups icing sugar, sifted
2-3 Tablespoons milk
1 Teaspoon vanilla essence

Cream butter, milk and vanilla essence. Gradually add icing sugar until smooth and creamy and forms peaks. Decorate cupcakes as desired.

yes I copied and pasted that recipe from Rattle and Mum because I cant be bothered to type it out, thats why it sounds much more professional! 

Will post some of my food recipes when I have a minute. I have to go and get Lily and I showered and dressed now! 

Please send me your favorite recipes and I’ll post them on my blog for everyone to try! you can send them to shannondawnrichards@gmail.com (please internet, don’t spam me!)

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

Leave a Reply

