attachment parenting and my magical child

Standard

I recently met @cathjenkins in real life after she discovered that we live on the same road. How small a world is it? Not only do we live in the same area but walking distance from eachother! So anyway we hit it off immediately and as she was walking me out she said “you do the whole breastfeeding, cosleeping thing hay”. Uh oh. I braced myself for the judgements. I waited for her to say “how are you ever going to get her out of your bed?” “How can you breastfeed someone with teeth?” “How will you ever wean her?” Or my all time favourite, “you’re spoiling her”. None of these happened though and instead I got a heartfelt high 5 and a ‘well done’! Its so awesome meeting like minded people.
See, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I don’t care what you do with your kids. I don’t care how you parent or where your kids sleep or if you bottle feed or formula feed. So why do you care what I do? Its insane how often I get the flabbergasted response of ‘you what? You let her sleep in your bed???’ Haha its crazy. But we’re happy. All three of us. Shaun and I have an amazing bond with our daughter and she is the happiest baby you will ever meet.

Onto my happy baby. She is seriously a magical child. I know all parents think their kids are special but seriously. Mine is. Seriously. Stop rolling your eyes, she is! She is ALWAYS happy and if she isn’t she has a good reason. She smiles at everyone and will hold out her arms to give people a welcome hug whenever she meets them. She does this to people wherever we go, to the woolies cashier, the lady at the biltong shop or even the car guard. She is open and friendly and welcoming and people are so drawn to her. I’ve never been out anywhere where I haven’t had people stop and talk to us. Everyone has a smile and a kind word for us (usually about how gorgeous her red hair is, followed by how happy and cute she is). She is happy 10 seconds after waking up, even if I’ve woken her up and very rarely wakes up grumpy. If she does a snuggle with mommy or her monkey and she’s happy again.
This child has big things in store for you World. I hope you’re ready for all her awesomeness.

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

3 responses »

  1. Ah my friend! What a sweet thing to say. No, I’m all about the “parent the way your child wants and needs you to, and bugger EVERYBODY else”. There is absolutely nothing wrong with co-sleeping as long as it works for the whole family. Your child’s needs are what is the most important guiding principle of your life. I’m proud of you for being an unashamed attachment parent and I high five you daily, my dear neighbour.

    I was villified, often, for the way I raise my daughter. As a fellow co-sleeper for many years, many people used to give me the evil eye about it. I don’t give a stuff. I had the googly eye thrown at me for being a single parent. I had the judgements thrown at me for not breastfeeding as long as I could but – as I explained to you – it couldn’t be helped and my life had literally fallen apart with the loss of my precious dad just 3 weeks after I gave birth.

    Nobody has the right to judge you as a parent.

  2. Fish is the same, a very happy and independant little man! Here’s to attached parenting raising a better generation!

  3. Best bit of parenting advice i ever got was from my doctor: bugger everything and do what works for you.

    I can’t bear people who judge how others raise your kid. Each to their own.

    (ps: you still owe me a playdate :P)

Leave a Reply

