birthday weekend

Standard

I love birthdays. Love love love them. Not just mine either. I get excited when its Shauns birthday as well, the whole week I feel excited and on his actual day I want to wake him at midnight and wish him Happy Birthday! I never do though because he doesn’t feel the same. I will definately do it with Lily though!
So in the run up to my birthday I had a few disappointments, my mom and brother were meant to be with me but life got in the way and neither could make it. Then my best friend down here and her boyfriend realized they were in Jhb for the weekend. Then my neighbour said she was away too! So my party plans slid out the window one by one. But you know what? I went on to have one of the best birthdays ever!
It started on Wednesday. Nelson Mandela day. Petria records Private Practice for me every week because its on to late for me to watch and she had 3 episodes for me to watch. So Lily and I went there early and sat and caught up! Petria had a client at 1.30 so once we had finished catching up on the drama of Addsions life we went and did our 67 mins (raiding our cupboards for clothes, blankets and linen and taking it to child welfare). We then popped back to her house to fetch her car and left together. Before I left she suggested we all go out for dinner that night (to Spur as that’s the most baby friendly place). We arranged to meet there at 6. As we were about to leave for dinner Shaun said he had gotten a message from Robbie (Petrias boyfriend) and they’re running late so we must go there for a drink first. I was getting edgy because Lily was hungry so wanted to go straight to Spur but Shaun insisted. We got to their house and they had a huge bunch of balloons, champagne and dinner cooked for me! Lasagne and chocolate souffles! It was such a stunning surprise and they were all in on it. I didn’t suspect a thing!
Thursday I made us mac and cheese, my second fave meal after lasagne and had a nice chilled day with my neighbour. We had tea and cupcakes and played with Lily and hung out.
Friday was my birthday and started with a message from my step mother. She was one of the first to message me, and as I’ve said before we have a bit of a stormy relationship. We are both making a big effort now though and its really paying off. I don’t think she reads my blog but, Vanida if you do, thank you. It meant a lot to me. Katherine and her little boy Liam came for lunch. She bought a bag of goodies, including home made brownies, presents and a surprise present from my mom! She had sent it with Kas so that I would have something to open on my birthday. Perfume that I have been wanting for ages! It was an amazing surprise, I have the best mom in the world! My dad called all the way from Paris and hinted about an awesome pressie, driving me mad. He ended up buying me a tablet, so so so awesome! Then Shaun popped in from work with a huge bouquet of flowers for me! Kas and I went for a walk and got frozen yogurt and spent the day playing with our little people and chatting. That night we got take out ribs and sat at home and watched movies. Simply perfect!
Saturday Lily and I had breakfast at circus Circus on the beach while Shaun surfed then we spent the day hanging out and playing in Lilys room.
Sunday we went to watch Freshly ground play at the Botanical gardens, it was amazing. A gorgeous day spent with amazing people!
Seriously one of the best birthdays ever! I got millions of messages and phone calls and I think it was probably the first time ever that no one forgot! I love you all, thank you for making my day so special!

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

One response »

  1. I remember how fabulous you made my 18th! So glad you had a good day and so excited to see how you celebrate your daughter’s birthdays through the years – no doubt she will be one very lucky girl!

Leave a Reply

