Since I became a mom…

Standard

…I sleep a lot less. And when I do sleep its usually with a baby foot tucked under my chin, or soft hair tickling my nose.
… I celebrate the small things. Like a 10 minute bath by myself, a baby who wakes up with a smile or a quick uninterrupted phone call.
…I weigh more and have battle scars. But I feel more beautiful and confident than ever. I now know what my body can do and thus respect it and love it.
…I dye my hair at home. Something I swore I would never do. But time and money make it a necessity.
…I very rarely bath alone and never sleep alone. I have always hated sleeping alone anyway so this is ok. Every night Lily and I bath together then Shaun takes her out and I bath alone for a little while. I look forward to it all day!
…I have less cocktail nights and more tea dates.
…I spend more time sitting on the floor with a baby playing besides me then I’ve ever spent in a gym.
…I do washing everyday. Who knew a baby could use so many clothes.
…I eat three meals a day. I eat when Lily eats and it makes me eat much healthier!
…I see dangers everywhere we go. The open plug point, the snappy dog, the slippery floor. Everything is a hazard to my precious girl.
…A trip to the grocery shop takes a well thought out plan.
…I discuss bowel movements with my husband. Not my own thankfully!!
…I spend less alone time with my husband, but love him more than ever.
…I talk to family, friends and the world less, but think of them all the time.
…I blog less, but have posts saved all over the place. I lie in bed thinking of them but don’t have the energy to write!
…I think of my little person first. Every time.
…I’m happier than I’ve ever been!

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

One response »

Leave a Reply

