The Blessings of a Daughter

Standard

I never thought I’d have a daughter. I always thought I’d have boys because there are so many boys in Shauns family. I even said that I’ll keep my wedding dress so that one day maybe my daughter-in-law would like to wear it. I never thought I would be blessed with a daughter. And when the doctor said “its a girl” I was in happy shock. I was thrilled! When I went home I took out my box of special things that I had kept for just in case; one squirt of the perfume that I wore on my wedding day, my bracelet with my name on from when I was a baby, the tiara I wore to get married in and my special earrings (from my great grandmother) I sat and sobbed and laughed while looking at it, I was so happy! I know had a daughter to share it with! Everytime I look at that box now I want to cry again because I have a daughter!!! I have a gorgeous little girl who can dress up in my clothes, play in my make up and play with my hair. I have an amazing relationship with my mom and I’m so blessed to have a daughter now who I can have that relationship with.
I love you my Lily, you are so special to me!

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

Leave a Reply

