The story of how I lost our passports. Twice.

Standard

Firstly I would like to state that losing the passports was NOT MY FAULT. It was Shauns because he knows what a loskop I am and yet he still trusted me with them.

So its three days after our wedding. We have spent the last 3 days in Bela Bela at an amazing game lodge, we’re both well rested after an amazing wedding. Getting married is exhausting, which is why I was so glad to have those few days to chill before we flew off to Bali for 10 days. I had no idea where we were going until we were on our way to the airport, when Shaun handed me a folder containing our tickets, passports and all the hotel bookings, money and important stuff. I was thrilled and slightly nervous because I’m not a great flyer. When we got to the airport, checked in and went through I decided to pop to the bathroom and freshen up and take some rescue to calm my nerves. Once I was finished I met Shaun and we walked to the other side of OR Tambo to the gate to get on the plane. We were almost there when Shaun said, where’s the tickets. I said, ‘you have them’ already my heart had stopped because I knew he didn’t. And I knew that I didn’t either. And I knew that I had no idea who did have them.

Shit.

Shaun freaks out and stomps and growls at me to find them now. I scream back at him that I have no idea where they are, what am I meant to do and shit what do we do now??? Then I think, maybe, just maybe I did it (again). Maybe they’re in the bathroom. I bolt across the airport, bags flying, and crash into the bathroom. As I fly in the security are opening my little folder with a witness to see whose it is. I swear I nearly crumbled into a ball on the floor I was so relieved. After proving to them who I was I had to go to Shaun with my tail between my legs and apologize. Oops. Well, we went on to have an amazing honeymoon with no more losses, mainly due to the fact that Shaun took on all grown up responsibilities.

image

Bali Bliss

The second time was again, entirely Shauns fault. We were leaving for Australia on our little adventure. The whole family was with us and my dad continually asked where the important docs were and Shaun made a big deal of the fact that HE was keeping them, not me. We decided to get our bags wrapped in cling wrap as a safety precaution and while we were standing there Shaun handed me the file of docs to hold while he loaded all the bags back onto the trolley. We walked to the check in desk and loaded all the luggage to be loaded and Shaun turned to me and said, where are the tickets.

Shit

Yup. I did it again. The blood drained from my face and I had absolutely no idea where they were. I frantically rummaged through my hand luggage, jacket, suit cases. Nothing. Shaun is cursing, my dad is saying ‘I told you not to let her hold them!’ My best friend is jumping up and down yelling ‘yay now you can’t leave!’ When the cling wrap guys caught my attention and waved my little folder at me. Thank goodness!!!

image

Australia. Shaun refuses to smile for the camera.

So you see, it wasn’t really my fault. Both times it was Shauns fault. No doubt.

Since then I’ve gotten a lot better, and a hell of a lot more paranoid. But if something goes missing now Shaun ALWAYS blames me. Always. Even if I didn’t touch whatever it was, I’m always to blame. Just because HE lost our passports. Twice.

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

2 responses »

  1. You have all my sympathy. I’ve always got things in my hand that just mysteriously disappears. Forgotten sunglasses in toilets multiple times, misplaced important documents etc etc. It is actually a wonder that I haven’t lost any of the children.

Leave a Reply

