Toilet paper in the bath

Standard

Lilys favorite thing to do is bath. She absolutely loves it. As soon as she has finished dinner, she runs through to the bathroom while Shaun runs her bath and eagerly tries to climb in, and pull her clothes off, while it runs. I use this time to quickly tidy the kitchen and then go bath with her. If we take to long getting her in the bath she starts throwing things in. Its almost like she feels if SHE can’t get in, at least something can. So she’ll grab the towels off the towel rack (ok ok from the floor), or run through to her play room and grab her doll. She’s tried to throw the scale in the bath and my cell phone, as well as magazines. The worst thing though is toilet paper! She grabs the toilet roll, pulls off a handful of paper and throws it in! I then get in the bath (after fishing out the things that aren’t meant to be in there!) And try scoop out wet toilet paper! Not easy and very annoying!

image

My sweet baby, monster child, really keeps us on our toes! Last week I opened the toilet and found her bottle in it! We are constantly finding our car keys in her ball pond, the cordless phone in her doll pram and my purse and its contents scattered all over the house. She has flooded the tv unit by pouring her bottle all over it, she’s pulled the arms off my sunglasses and threw my last blackberry on the floor so many times, that it won’t switch on anymore. My car is a tip, full of beach sand and crushed marie biscuits, my handbag has a fine layer of crushed who-knows-what at the bottom of it and my (new) cellphones buttons stick already from all the sticky fingers. (Hers, not mine!). My kitchen cupboards are a state, as are my bedroom cupboards. Lily pulls everything out of them daily, I spend my life tripping over tupperware, or standing on high heels that she’s dragged into the passage. Our house is a toy explosion, my neighbor knocked on my door the other day with an armful of toys ‘your house is leaking toys’ she said. My baby is very generous you see, she stands at the door and throws her toys out, so everyone can play with them!

image

Our life will never be neat and tidy, our house will never be quiet (unless the baby is sleeping, in which case you could hear a pin drop), my car will never be pristine, my white pants will never stay white and my cupboards will never be tidy. But our life is full of fun, of jumping in puddles, learning new things, rolling down hills and playing in the sand. Our life is about giggles, hide and seek, peek a boo and jumping on the bed. Teletubbies and Mister Maker, Marie Biscuits and Flings. Playdates and nap drives and all things messy, girly, loud and FUN!

image

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

One response »

  1. *Adore*. When I was in therapy, after suffering a nervous breakdown (yes, these really happen wah…you met me at a good time in my life :P), one of the key things I had fixated on (because you do fixate)…was clean kitchen counters. In my head, I’d built up this ideal that to be a good parent, I had to have a spotless house. ALL THE TIME. Like you see in television adverts. LOL.

    My therapist put me on a course of strictly trying, at least once a week, to JUST LEAVE THINGS AS THEY ARE and go to bed. It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. It was one of the best lessons about living I ever had.

    You know what my house looks like now, and I’ve never been happier. Bless the noise, and celebrate the trippage, because heck, that’s family life. X

Leave a Reply

