Day one:self portrait

Standard

Hmm, a self-portrait. I’m sure the logical would be to take a picture of myself and have it done with, but since I’m in pyjamas with dirty hair and no makeup, that’s not going to happen.

So instead I’ll tell you about myself. I am a 26 year old, wife, mother, daughter, sister, and friend. I am a recruitment consultant, specializing in IT placements. I love my job, I find it stressful and get frazzled and confused but I love it! I studied Corporate Communications and psychology straight from school and went onto to do honours in trauma counselling, which I didn’t complete. I didn’t love school; I tolerated it but wouldn’t go back if you paid me. My fave subjects were History and English, my worst; Maths and Biology. I still have nightmares about my finial maths exams. PTSD I think! I loved studying psychology and enjoyed my community service, which I did at a children’s shelter. I learnt more in the year that I worked there than I did in my degree. If I could go back I would have taken a gap year, and travelled more. I would have studied religion or hairdressing, or both.

I met my soul mate in a bar and it was love at first sight, as corny as that may sound. We had a long distance relationship for three years, lived together for one before we got married and went overseas. We lived in Australia and England and finally came home and settled in Richards Bay where we had our daughter, Lily. I have moved every six months since I moved out of my mom’s house. To date we have lived in the same house for almost a year, we’re planning on moving in the next month or so.

I always wanted to be a mom. The act of being a mother was a shock and much harder in some aspects and easier in others, than I expected it to be.

I love all things pink and fluffy, I’m a girly girl but will always choose handbag over shoes, hair over nails. Sweet over salty and water over most drinks. My fave meal is lasagne with salad, or macaroni cheese with tomato sauce. Crème Brule is my go to dessert. Chocolate is always a winner in my book.

I’m a book addict and especially love YA fiction and criminal thrillers. I love love love Harry Potter, I listen to the audiobooks on repeat and my heart smiles every time. I love gory, scary books. Karen Slaughter and Kathy Reich are two of my faves. I seem to read female authors a lot but that’s just by fluke. I have book hangovers often, and when I’m really into a book I dream about it for days.

My people mean the world to me. My Lily, Shaun, mom, dad, brother and Jen are the frequent players in my worst nightmares as I worry about them the most. My brother is on the top of the list, I will always feel protective over him.

I love TV, especially Greys, Glee and South Park. To be honest I just love TV series.

I have wild hair, incredible curly and frizzy and insanely thick. Awful skin that is prone to eczema, nails that break and teeth that only got holes in after my pregnancy. I cried like a baby when I had my first filling at 25 years old.

And that’s me. I try be kind to everyone I meet. I try not to judge. I’m pro-choice. I take this to mean that I am pro people choosing to live how they want. It pisses me off that others think that they can dictate how others can live. I try very hard not to push my opinion on others and I try to be tolerant and kind. Kindness is all that matters in the big scheme of things. Everything else falls into place automatically.

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

Leave a Reply

