Two-one!

Standard

The terrific twos!!!

Lily is (almost) two! When asked she says she is two one. I can very easily state that she is at the best age so far! To be honest I do say that about every single age, but I just love two!

The tantrums and whiney pants-ness is something to behold but most of the time it is because we can’t understand her, it must be incredibly frustrating to want something and not be able to make yourself understood. The other night we had a meltdown because she kept asking for a “bidi”. I had just given her a plate of food (I can’t remember what it was now) but she kept asking for a ‘bidi’. I had no idea what she was on about, I tried everything and she got more and more upset, until she finally managed to show me that she wanted a spoon. Seriously how was I supposed to know that a Bidi is a spoon? In a similar situation I have learned that Kadush is open.

The talking is the best, da da da is jump, kwa Kwa is duck, ooh ooh is monkey, she says woo woo for dogs, moos and baahs, birdys, cars, ba is bath. We can actually have a conversation now, and we sit in the bath every night having long chats. I love it! when asked where her bed is she points to the spot between our two pillows but knows her room as her room, the one she doesn’t sleep in. She follows direction really well, if I ask her to take her clothes to the laundry basket she does, she will pass me a towel when I get out the bath or shower, find the remote when asked and help collect dirty dishes. I am amazed at the level of understanding. Every now and then she will look at me quizzically and I will have to show her, but not often.

She loves the galaxy tab, which drives me mad as the only time I can play with it is when she is sleeping, but she knows how to use it and swipes to turn it on, flips the screen and play her fave games.

She is still a big cuddler and more often than not sleeps in my arms, can you think of anything better? I doubt it. Sometimes she wakes up and takes my hand and puts it on her cheek before going back to sleep. She loves her dad and as soon as she wakes up she looks for him. As Shaun often leaves for gym at 5, she wakes up and says “daddy gone” in a mournful little voice.

She eats well, is very independent and will feed herself every time. As long as she has a “bidi”. She is a big drinker and will down two bottles of tea without a second thought. She has juice sometimes but usually tea or water. Potty training is going to be a pain because of this!

As far as the “terrible twos” go, we have had a few tantrums and she can be unreasonable. She can be very indecisive and whiney and I try so hard to keep my cool but every now and then I SOS to Shaun and hide in the bathroom. Pulling on my clothes and wailing is the worst. She says naughty mommy if I do ANYTHING she doesn’t like, and goes running to Shaun. Thankfully most of the time we have each other’s back and we explain to her why daddy or mommy aren’t naughty.

She is gorgeous, I just adore her. We have so much fun together! I wish I could still be home with her all the time, but she loves school, she loves to play with her friends and learn new things, and I know I can’t give her that.

A quick one about my lovely husband who is such an amazing dad. I hate the term ‘hands on dad’ because it goes against the grain so I am just saying he is a great dad. We are equal parents in every way and we make such a good team. I really feel that we are doing this parenting thing pretty well, our child is amazing. We are ying and yang and I could not be more blessed in the husband and daddy department. Lily is a lucky little girl!

About ournextbigadventure

After a few years of travelling around and itchy feet, my husband and I have embarked on our greatest adventure yet...parenthood! We have been blessed with a beautiful little girl named Lily Sage. Now everyday is filled not with questions of "where to next?" but with baby smiles, hiccups and milky breaths.

Leave a Reply

